…photo apps in the iTunes Store. I know – I counted them today. I must admit I thought there were a lot, but 7077??? Well, the internet is practically made for photos and photographers, so why not offer tons of apps for all the smart phones around.

But where to start – obviously the choice can be bewildering, and trying them all is out of the question. That’s where I come in…

I won’t pretend to have tried even a fraction of them but I’ve tried some of the most popular apps. And since photos and the web and Facebook etc. seem to be made for each other all in the name of FUN which is the “funnest” one of all?

For me that’s easy – Instagram! It’s free and users rate it 5 out of 5 stars!

Actually Hipstamatic is the most popular photo app for the iPhone (but only rated 4 out of 5 stars), but Instagam offers something different – a community of fun-loving photographers behind the app.

Here are a few of the “Instagrams” I’ve made recently:

So, how does it work? Well, download the app and open it, click the center SHARE button and take a new photo or select one from your photo albums. Then the fun part begins:

Crop the photo to fit Instagram’s square format (reminiscent of old square format films). Then your cropped image appears onscreen. Along the bottom are “filters” which give your photo a variety of old camera/old film type looks. A range of retro looks with custom borders can be recreated, and you can try as many as you’d like (15 total)
before committing to a final version. Then click NEXT.

SHARE – From there you can let Instagram automatically upload the final image to your Facebook or Twitter accounts, or simply add them to your albums on the Instagram site. The Instagram community is interesting. You can meet and interact with other photographers there, “Like” their photos, “Follow” them, “Comment” on their work, etc. sound familiar?

Here are a few of mine full size:

So give it a try. I’m really enjoying this app and I’ll bet you will too. If you do try it, let me know what you think in the comments below. Thx!

