STAYING FOCUSED (or not)

Photographers spend a lot of time and effort on FOCUS. And rightly so. We use terms like selective focus, follow focus and focus points. “Focus on the eyes, the windows to the soul.” After all, without focus our images would be haphazard collections of light captured on film or sensor.

Focusing on one part of a scene, as in “selective focus”, draws the viewer’s eye to whatever it is that caught the photographer’s eye in the first place. It causes the viewer to see the focused object clearly while everything else is a little blurry. In fact, selective focus is one of my favorite techniques. (This is accomplished by using a large aperture setting on the lens to create a small depth of field, which is the area that appears to be in focus.)


(Toyota Supra photographed at White Rock Lake)

Sometimes as photographers we want to portray a scene with everything in focus, such as a landscape or sunset. (Then we’ll use a small aperture on the lens for maximum depth of field.)


(Sunset over the Pacific coast)

REFOCUSING

Sometimes I lose my focus altogether and have to ’find my way again’. That seems to happen whenever I’ve gotten more undisciplined that usual, a little too irresponsible or a little selfish. Those things seem to throw me off course and I lose sight of what’s important in my life. Whenever I start getting off balance, I refocus on what’s most important to me – God and family. When I do, I regain balance and focus. It’s not about me.

And I discover that the joys of God and family are very much intertwined.


(Madison Kay Maupin, one hour old)

