Well, I just hit the 100th “like” on my Facebook fan page: MaupinPhoto on Facebook THANK YOU!

A milestone of sorts though a small one compared to some of the Top Guns there. But for me it’s noteworthy, considering I only started that page about a month ago. if you would have asked me a month ago how many friends I had, it probably wouldn’t be 100 – maybe 20-30. Well, now I have 100 folks that “like” me. Granted, most are family and true friends who “liked” me because they like me. 😉  Some are just associates or new casual acquaintances. Truth be known, though I don’t really know many of them personally, they are precious to me. I appreciate each and every one of them, even my competitors who just want so see what I am up to next 😉

We all want to be liked and accepted. Don’t believe me? Where’s the first place you go on Facebook? That’s right – Notifications. Who has liked my posts? Who has posted on my wall? Who wants to be my friend?

None of that is bad. In fact it can be quite good:

  • Reconnecting with distant family members.
  • Finding former schoolmates and teachers.
  • Sharing ‘war stories’ with long lost old Army buddies.

Those are all great uses for FaceBook. But a lot of it not worth spending much time on. Do I really need to stay up too late watching just one more drag racing video? I just need to keep my balance.

Funny YouTube Vid

How do you keep your balance on FaceBook?

FACEBOOK FACTS:

  • More than 750 million active users
  • 30% of Facebook users check their Facebook each morning before getting out of bed.
  • 50% of active users log on to Facebook in any given day
  • Average user has 130 friends
  • People spend over 700 billion minutes per month on Facebook
  • There are over 900 million objects that people interact with (pages, groups, events and community pages)
  • Average user is connected to 80 community pages, groups and events
  • Average user creates 90 pieces of content each month
  • More than 30 billion pieces of content (web links, news stories, blog posts, notes, photo albums, etc.) shared each month.
So, has Facebook (or Twitter or LinkedIn) enhanced your life – your real life?
